SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  


Spur

Music & dance piece with Ensemble KNM Berlin
2016
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video


Spur

Music & dance piece with Ensemble KNM Berlin
2016
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video


The choreographer Shang-Chi Sun and Ensemble KNM Berlin continue their research between dance and contemporary music started with "The Photographer" with music by Philip Glass, which was presented in 2014 at the Museum of Photography in Berlin, the Philharmonie in Cologne and the Cité de la Musique in Paris. With SPUR, both teams create a new production combining dance with the subtle and fascinating sound world of Beat Furrer around two iconic pieces of the composer: "Phasma" and "Solo for Cello".

Beat Furrer is one of contemporary music's most interesting composers of the moment in Europe. Since the 90s, Beat Furrer describes his act of creation as a search, almost archaeological, of sound, bringing to the surface invisible layers. In a complex process consisting of simultaneous movements that overlap, merge and filter each other, he reveals a sound landscape that he projects into time. A music born of the discovery, but hidden, waiting to be revealed, as an evidence...

SPUR means "trace" in German and carries in itself the mystery of multiple stories focused on one point: the notions of time, space and movement are intertwined. The movement is imagined in a frozen trace, becoming sediments. The capture of a past action that focuses fables and facts, past and present in an unspoken and poetic interpretation.

The choreography takes up the idea of gravity of the movement and its traces. The footprints that we discover in the undergrowth are the marks of a narration, of a story: the story of the walker who made them, and the history of time, wind and rain that have altered them. The past of the action and present of this discovery come together and merge. This temporal juxtaposition made of observation, imagination and bodily sensations are also central elements in the choreographic language of Shang-Chi Sun. His dance, between Asian movement tradition and contemporary dance, draws its strength from a simple and minimal inspiration: the trace is primarily an expression of weight, but also moving it, it becomes a momentum that transforms into movement as a starting point of a complex and multiple development.

 

"I try to capture the stories and bodily dimensions contained in the apparently abstract steps. There is a hidden message in gravity, which leads to the human. Do intense exchanges between contemporary music and movement offer a new perspective on the perception of the body? The sounds are like a key for sizing and witnessing the steps of the dancer. Beat Furrer's music is both daring and sensual. His way of composing is often unexpected and always masterful. He never hesitates to exploit the full potentiality of the instruments to experiment with new soundscapes. I want to bind my choreography to this particular music, let it leaded and transformed by it until revealing a new understanding of gravity and weight of the body. This is the starting point for me to search for a new perspective of the movement, a new language, perhaps."

Shang-Chi Sun


PRESS REVIEWS


Three men, one woman. All young, fully in the matter, technically high experienced, inventive. Shang-Chi Sun as the creator of such a wild and subtle work did a great job.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, July 11, 2016


Eye-catching is the beginning, without having any sound to hear. Quite a big thing. (...) With a solo part (…) Ying Ting An, a dancer originally coming from Taiwan like the choreographer, opens the "track". (...) All her effort is so subtle devoted to fill with dance that silence and to give sense to it that the space does not cease to "sound", without a tone coming up. Because silence is sound.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, July 11, 2016


This one-hour "track" does not end before the turbulences are evaporated and all movement turns back to peace. Morendo, danced abandonment of single tones builds up the final metaphor. Silence like at the beginning. But the outcome of this highly successful, the senses captivating evening is tragic.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, July 11, 2016


The encounter of dance and live music does not always mean that the musicians move from the spot. However, the cellist Ringela Riemke and the pianist Frank Gutschmidt of the Ensemble KNM Berlin pounce with verve into the difficult scores. Their concentrated performance has something immensely physical, as well as the sounds seem very physical.

Sandra Luzina, Tagesspiegel, July 11, 2016


This is not a deadly serious evening where you reverently listen at each Pling. The dancers bring playful wit and imagination into a music of recalcitrant-brittle sensuality. (…) But as Beat Furrer explores the possibilities of the instruments, also Shang-Chi Sun searches for other forms of expression. He gives his splendid dancers a large freedom, and that's what makes the encounter with the music so exciting.

Sandra Luzina, Tagesspiegel, July 11, 2016


Credits

Company Shang-Chi Sun

Choreographie und Regie: Shang-Chi Sun

Tanz und Choreographie: Fernando Balsera Pita, Malcolm Sutherland, Ying Ting An, Samuel Déniz Falcón

Licht, Bühne: Hans Fründt

Management: Laurent Dubost

Fotos: Dr. Achim Plum

Ensemble KNM Berlin

Musik: Beat Furrer, "Phasma" für Klavier, "Solo" für Cello

Aufführungsrechte: Bärenreiter-Verlag

Ringela Riemke, Violoncello

Frank Gutschmidt, Klavier

Management: Thomas Bruns

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Barbara Gstaltmayr

Dauer: ca. 60 Minuten

Eine Produktion der Company Shang-Chi Sun in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ensemble KNM Berlin.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Senatskanzlei – Kulturverwaltung des Landes Berlin, das Kulturministerium der Republik China (Taiwan) und Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung. Die Recherche-Residenz 2015 wurde unterstützt von La Briqueterie und dem Centre Culturel de Taiwan in Paris. Vielen Dank an die Uferstudios, die Freie Volksbühne, Kulturradio, die fabrik Potsdam, Robert Witzsche Medien Design und HVS Plakat.

Dauer: ca. 55 minutes

Upcoming Dates

November 24 to 26, 2017, National Theatre Taiwan, Taipei (TW)

Spur
Music & dance piece with Ensemble KNM Berlin
EARLIER DATES
July 8th & 9th, 20h, July 10th 19h | Spur | Uferstudios Berlin (D)

Pictures

Video

Trailer Spur

 
DE · EN

SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  


Spur

Music & dance piece with Ensemble KNM Berlin
2016
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video


Spur

Music & dance piece with Ensemble KNM Berlin
2016
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video


Der Choreograf Shang-Chi Sun widmet sich mit dieser Tanz- und Musikproduktion den subtilen und faszinierenden Musikebenen Furrers, rund um zwei emblematischen Stücken des Komponisten: "Phasma" und "Solo für Cello". Dabei setzt er seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ensemble KNM Berlin zwischen Tanz und Neue Musik fort, die mit dem Stück „The Photographer“ zu Musik von Philip Glass angefangen wurde (2014). Die neue Produktion ist ein abendfüllendes Stück mit vier Tänzer/innen und zwei Musiker/innen werden.

Beat Furrer ist zurzeit einer der interessantesten Komponisten Europas. Seit den 90-Jahren beschreibt Beat Furrer sein Komponieren als eine Spurensuche im Klanglichen, als ein Freilegen von Schichten, der Arbeit eines Archäologen gleich. Das Material projiziert er in einem mehrschichtigen Prozess von simultanen Bewegungsabläufen in die Zeit. Sie überlagern, überblenden und filtern sich.

Spur trägt das Geheimnis einer auf den Moment komprimierten Erzählung in sich: Zeit, Raum und Bewegung sind unauflösbar verbunden. Bewegung als Abdruck gefroren, erstarrt und sedimentiert. Ein Abbild einstigen Geschehens, das Imagination und Fakten, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart auf poetische Weise miteinander verbindet.

Die Choreografie konzentriert sich auf die Suche nach dem „Gewicht“ der Bewegung. Spuren im Wald  hinterlassen zum Beispiel Geschichten: Geschichte des Menschen, der sie gemacht hat, und Geschichte der Zeit, des Windes und des Regens, die sie seitdem verändert haben. Die Vergangenheit des Schrittes und die Gegenwart seiner späteren Wahrnehmung durch den, der ihnen folgt, finden zusammen.

Diese Mischung aus Beobachtung, Fantasie und physischer Wahrnehmung findet sich in den choreografischen Methoden Shang-Chi Suns wieder. Seine Bewegungen lässt er immer aus einem minimalen Ansatz entstehen: Eine Spur ist zuerst einmal Gewicht, aber auch Gewichtsverlagerung, dann Ansatz, Fortbewegung und der Startpunkt für komplexere Entwicklungen.

 

„Ich versuche, die Geschichten hinter dem scheinbar abstrakten Schritt wie eine physikalische Größe zu begreifen. Es gibt eine versteckte Botschaft im Gewicht, die zu dem Menschen dahinter fĂĽhrt. Vielleicht ist die Wechselwirkung zwischen zeitgenössischer Musik und Bewegung ein Weg, um die Veränderung des Gewichts aus einem anderen Winkel zu betrachten? Töne können ein SchlĂĽssel sein, um den Schritt zu analysieren und zu bezeugen. Beat Furrers Arbeit ist abenteuerlich und sinnlich. Die Art, wie er seine Kompositionen zusammensetzt, ist unberechenbar und meisterhaft. Er wagt es immer wieder, die Möglichkeiten der Instrumente auszuloten, um mit neuen Klängen zu experimentieren. Ich möchte meine Choreografie mit seiner Musik verbinden, sie fĂĽhren, verändern lassen, bis zu einem neuen Verständnis der Schwerkraft. Aus dieser Zusammenarbeit suche ich nach einer fĂĽr mich neuen Perspektive der Bewegung, hin zu einer erneuerte Körpersprache.“

Shang-Chi Sun    

PRESSESTIMMEN


Drei Männer, eine Frau. Alle jung, unheimlich bei der Sache, technisch beschlagen, erfindungsreich. Shang-Chi Sun als Schöpfer des so wilden wie subtilen Reigens hat großartige Arbeit geleistet.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, 11. Juli 2016


Ins Auge sticht der Anfang, ohne dass was zu hören ist. Große Nummer. (...) Mit einer Solonummer (...) Ying Ting An, wie ihr Choreograf aus Taiwan kommend, eröffnet die „Spur“. (...) All ihre Bemühung steht im Zeichen, jene Stille tänzerisch so subtil auszufüllen und dieser selbst Sinn zu verleihen, dass der Raum zu „klingen“ nicht aufhört, ohne dass ein Ton fällt. Denn Stille ist Klang.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, 11. Juli 2016


Jene einstündigen „Spur“ endet nicht, bevor die Turbulenzen eingedampft sind und alle Bewegung im Zeichen der Hinkehr zur Ruhe steht. Morendo, getanzte Verlassenheit auf Einzeltönen lauten die finalen Metaphern. Stille wie zu Beginn. Doch der Ausgang dieses höchst gelungenen, die Sinnen fesselnden Abends ist tragisch.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, 11. Juli 2016


Die Begegnung von Tanz und Live-Musik muss nicht immer bedeuten, dass die Instrumentalisten sich vom Fleck bewegen. Die Cellistin Ringela Riemke und der Pianist Frank Gutschmidt vom Ensemble KNM Berlin stürzen sich aber mit Verve auf die schwierigen Partituren, ihr konzentriertes Spiel hat etwas immens Körperliches, wie auch die Klänge sehr physisch anmuten.

Sandra Luzina, Tagesspiegel, 11. Juli 2016


Dies ist kein bierernster Abend, wo man andächtig jedem Pling lauscht. Wo die Musik von einer widerborstig-spröden Sinnlichkeit ist, bringen die Tänzer spielerischen Witz und Fantasie mit. (...) Doch wie Beat Furrer die Möglichkeiten der Instrumente auslotet, sucht auch Shang-Chi Sun nach anderen Ausdruckformen. Seinen famosen Tänzern lässt er große Freiheiten, doch gerade das macht die Begegnung mit der Musik so spannend.

Sandra Luzina, Tagesspiegel, 11. Juli 2016


Credits

Company Shang-Chi Sun

Choreographie und Regie: Shang-Chi Sun

Tanz und Choreographie: Fernando Balsera Pita, Malcolm Sutherland, Ying Ting An, Samuel DĂ©niz FalcĂłn

Licht, BĂĽhne: Hans FrĂĽndt

Management: Laurent Dubost

Fotos: Dr. Achim Plum

Ensemble KNM Berlin

Musik: Beat Furrer, "Phasma" fĂĽr Klavier, "Solo" fĂĽr Cello

Aufführungsrechte: Bärenreiter-Verlag

Ringela Riemke, Violoncello

Frank Gutschmidt, Klavier

Management: Thomas Bruns

Ă–ffentlichkeitsarbeit: Barbara Gstaltmayr

Dauer: ca. 60 Minuten

Eine Produktion der Company Shang-Chi Sun in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ensemble KNM Berlin.

Mit freundlicher UnterstĂĽtzung durch die Senatskanzlei – Kulturverwaltung des Landes Berlin, das Kulturministerium der Republik China (Taiwan) und Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung. Die Recherche-Residenz 2015 wurde unterstĂĽtzt von La Briqueterie und dem Centre Culturel de Taiwan in Paris. Vielen Dank an die Uferstudios, die Freie VolksbĂĽhne, Kulturradio, die fabrik Potsdam, Robert Witzsche Medien Design und HVS Plakat.

Dauer: ca. 55 minutes

Upcoming Dates

November 24 to 26, 2017, National Theatre Taiwan, Taipei (TW)

Spur
Music & dance piece with Ensemble KNM Berlin
EARLIER DATES
July 8th & 9th, 20h, July 10th 19h | Spur | Uferstudios Berlin (D)

Pictures

Video

Trailer Spur

 
DE · EN